

## BEAVER CREEK SCHOOL DISTRICT #26 4810 E. Beaver Creek Rd. Rimrock AZ 86335 (928) 567-4631 Fax (928) 567-5347 Karin Ward, Superintendent

## MINUTES

Rescheduled Regular Governing Board Meeting August 12<sup>th</sup>, 2013

Board members in attendance:

Karen DuFrense Jo Burke Diana Foltz Jeannette Estes Jackie Harshman

- 1. The meeting was called to order at 6:32 PM.
- 2. Jo Burke made the motion to adopt the Agenda. The motion was seconded by Jeannette Estes and the agenda was adopted with a unanimous vote.
- 3. Board Minutes needed to be corrected. Karen DuFrense name was missed spelled.
- 4. Information Items
  - a. Karin Ward shared the power point presentation that was presented to the staff at the kick off meeting. She also had the Board Members participate in some of the activities that the staff did that day.
  - b. Karin went over our letter rating for Beaver Creek School. The School rating is a "C". She went over our growth within the school and noted that we did have growth in many areas. Karin went into detail on how the school is rated and made sure all Board members understood the concept.
  - c. Jo Burke would like to see an action plan for Beaver Creek. She would like the School at a "B" rating next year.
- 5. Action Items
  - a. Diana Foltz made the motion to approve the Consent Agenda. The motion was seconded by Jackie Harshman. It was approved with a unanimous vote.
  - b. Karen DuFresne made the motion to discuss the Governing Board meeting dates for the FY 14. Diana Foltz seconded the motion. All the dates were review by the Board Members and it was agreed that the dates were going to work for all Board Members. The motion was approved by all Board Members and the dates will be posted on Beaver Creek Website.
  - c. Jeannette Estes made the motion to approve the Chain of Command Chart. The motion was seconded by Karen DuFresne. Karin Ward went over the Chart will the Board Members and pasted the Chain of Command Chart with a unanimous vote.
  - d. Jackie Harshman made the motion to discuss the possible approval of stipends for the FY 14. Diana Foltz seconded the motion. The stipends were passed out

## Governing Board

Karen DuFresne, Jo Burke, Jeannette Estes, Diana Foltz, Jackie Harshman

to the staff. Some Job descriptions are embedded with duties as specified in stipend therefore; stipend is not required. Academic programs will be monitored by the staff and attached stipends will be allocated. Payout will be based on job description completion.

- e. Jeannette Estes made the motion to discuss the approval for Jimmy Womack to move forward with the lowest bid, not to exceed \$7500 for the cost of the new pump for the well and to drill the well deeper. Karen DuFrense seconded the motion and all board member were in favor.
- f. Karen DuFrense made the motion to discuss the approval of Sole Source Purchases for 2013-2014. Diana Foltz seconded the motion. Flame Propane,United.SC Fuel, Windsor Management(Now Tyler),APS,Solar City and Century Link All provide a service for the school. The board members approved Sole Source Purchases unanimously.
- g. Jeannette Estes made the motion to discuss the request for a delegate to attend the ASBA Delegate assembly on 9/07/2013. Karen DuFrense seconded the motion. Board Members nominated Karen DuFrense to be the Delegate with a unanimous vote.
- 6. Personnel Action
  - a. Jeannette Estes made the motion to discuss the Acceptance of resignations, approval of FY 14 Certified, Athletic and Classified Salary Determination Charts. (no changes from FY 13) and reinstate Betty Jo Baker as full cafeteria aide. Diana Foltz seconded the motion. It was passed by all board members unanimously.
    - i. Kaitlin Ralston
    - ii. Jennifer Batts (resignations)
    - iii. Betty Jo Baker (reinstate)
- 7. Information Items
  - a. Congratulations to Jim Womack and Lynn Leonard for their successful application. They were award funding for roof recoating.
- 8. Diana Foltz made the motion to adjourn. Jeannette Estes seconded the motion and the meeting adjourns at 7:51 PM with an unanimous vote.

Respectfully submitted,

Lacee Lee

Karen DuFrense

Jo Burke

Jackie Harshman

Jeannette Estes

Diana Foltz

Governing Board Karen DuFresne, Jo Burke, Jeannette Estes, Diana Foltz, Jackie Harshman